Logo Nspeak
Youtube Facebook

Unit 6 - Scotland's Highlands and Islands


The Highlands of Scotland are the rugged, mountainous region in the northwest of the country. They include the Grampian and Cairngorm mountains and Britain's highest mountain, Ben Nevis. Other geographical features are glens (or valleys) and lochs (or lakes) such as Loch Ness with its legendary monster 
The Highlands is one of the most sparsely populated area in Europe. It has been the setting for many films such as Braveheart and Highlander.
The area is popular for outdoor activities such as hiking and climbing, and in winter for skiing. Wildlife enthusiasts can see wild cats, pine martins, red squirrels, golden eagles and deer.
There are nearly eight hundred islands off the coast of Scotland, of which ninety-seven are populated. The three main groups of islands are the Hebrides, the Orkneys and the Shetlands.
Many ancient archeological sites can be seen on the islands, such as the Callanish standing stones on the island of Lewis, and Skara Brae, a neolithic settlement on Orkney. Whales, dolphins and seals can be seen around the islands.
The highlands and islands are famous for producing fine whiskies, celebrated every year at the Spirit of Speyside whisky festival. Why not go on a tour of the breweries and sample the many different kinds?


- Comprehension (True/False)
- Vocabulary Check (Matching)


Test Gratuito

Test Gratuito
Test gratuito